The Cookies that were on Fire (lol not literally!)

Yesterday, I was bored so I decided to bake cookies.  I found this really cool website with a recipe to make these cookies they called “Sweethearts.”  http://www.fictionalfood.net/2011/12/sweethearts-hunger-games-sugar-cookies/

They called them Sweethearts because they had stamped Hunger Games quotes and on them and because that is what Haymitch calls Katniss.  I call them the cookies that were on fire because they call Katniss “The Girl on Fire”.  They looked so cool!   I decided to try it but since I did not have the special kit I had to use a toothpick to carve the words! (That did not work out well!)

And I had to make half the recipe since I did not have enough butter. (It is NOT easy cutting an egg in half!)

Permalink
Posted in Uncategorized

Mockingjay (The Third Book of the Hunger Games)

By Suzanne Collins

DO NOT READ IF YOU ARE READING THE FIRST TWO BOOKS!  MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS ABOUT THE FIRST TWO BOOKS!

“We had to save you because you’re the mockingjay, Katniss,” says Plutarch.  “While you live, the revolution lives.  The bird, the pin, the song, the berries, the watch, the cracker, the dress that burst into flames.  I am the mockingjay.  The one that survived despite the Capitol’s plans.  The symbol of the rebellion.”

My name is Katniss Everdeen.  I am seventeen years old.  My home is District 12.  I was in the Hunger Games.  I escaped.  The Capitol hates me.  Peeta was taken prisoner.  He is thought to be dead.  Most likely he is dead.  It is probably best if he is dead…

After being rescued from the Quarter Quell, Katniss now has to start a new life in the underground District 13 (yes, it exists) with her mother, sister, Gale, and the rest of the refugees who made it out of District 12 before it was bombed. There is nothing left of 12. There has been no news of Peeta who was captured by the Capitol.  No news of Cinna either.  No news at all.

The rebels want her to be the Mockingjay.  The face of the rebellion.  But does she want to?  Can she do it without Peeta?

What I thought:

I absolutely LOVED this series!  I loved all three books.  I recommend this series to anyone who can read.  I loved the epilogue and I loved the ending of the book.  The message received form these books are the effects war has on children.  How war changes you.  AND WHO WILL SHE CHOOSE?  PEETA OR GALE?

READ THESE BOOKS!

You’re a painter. You’re a baker. You like to sleep with the windows open. You never take sugar in your tea. And you always double-knot your shoelaces. Katniss Everdeen


Quotes! (my favorite part!!!)

Peeta would have nothing to come home to anyway. Except me…  Katniss Everdeen

…it takes too much energy to stay angry with someone who cries so much.  Katniss Everdeen

What am I going to do?’ I whisper at the walls. Because I really don’t know. Katniss Everdeen

Oh, no. It costs a lot more than your life. To murder innocent people? It costs everything you are. Peeta Mellark

Is this really what we want to do? Kill ourselves off completely? In the hopes that–what? Some decent species will inherit the smoking remains of the earth?  Peeta Mellark

You could ask for the moon and they’d have to find some way to get it.  Gale Hawthorne

Finnick? Maybe some pants? Katniss Everdeen

Fire is catching! And if we burn, you burn with us! Katniss Everdeen

I feel fine, really. Except for my head, and my leg, and the soreness from the bruises, and the nausea that hit a couple minutes after I ate. Maybe the wheelchair’s a good idea. Katniss Everdeen

Peeta’s right. They do fall silent when I sing. Just as they did for my father.  Katniss Everdeen

…I’m in pain. That’s the only way I get your attention. Gale Hawthorne

I should have drowned you [Buttercup] when I had the chance. Katniss Everdeen

Crazy cat becomes a metaphor for my situation. I am Buttercup. Peeta, the thing I want so badly to secure, is the light. Katniss Everdeen

I drag myself out of nightmares each morning and find there’s no relief in waking.  Finnick Odair

It takes ten times as long to put yourself back together as it does to fall apart. Finnick Odair

But in the end, the only person I truly want to comfort me is Haymitch, because he loves Peeta, too. Katniss Everdeen

Not only does he hate me and want to kill me, he no longer believes I’m human. It was less painful being strangled. Katniss Everdeen

Good news, Katniss! I think we’ve almost got him convinced you’re not a mutt! Plutarch Heavensbee

…Darius was teasing you about trading a rabbit for one of his kisses. And I realized…I minded. Gale Hawthorne

I’m alive. Katniss Everdeen  No kidding, brainless. Johanna Mason

I must have loved you a lot. Peeta Mellark

Fine. I’ll train. But I’m going to the stinking Capitol if I have to kill a crew and fly there myself. Johanna Mason

He never lets go of Annie’s hand. Not when they walk, not when they eat. I doubt he ever plans to. Katniss  Everdeen

What? My head doctor says I’m not suppose to censor my thoughts. It’s part of my therapy. Johanna Mason

Oh Peeta…Don’t make me sorry I restarted your heart. Finnick Odair

Roses. Wolf Mutts. Tributes. Frosted Dolphins. Friends. Mockingjays. Stylists. Me. Everything screams in my dreams tonight. Katniss Everdeen

Friend. Lover. Victor. Enemy. Fiancee. Target. Mutt, Neighbor. Hunter. Tribute. Ally. I’ll add it to the list of words I use to try to figure you out.  Peeta Mellark

The problem is, I can’t tell what’s real anymore, and what’s made up. Peeta Mellark

You’re still trying to protect me. Real or Not Real? Peeta Mellark   Real. Because that’s what you and I do. Protect each other. Katniss Everdeen

Stay with me. Katniss Everdeen
Always. Peeta Mellark,

Katniss will pick whoever she thinks she can’t live without. Gale Hawthorn

Closing my eyes doesn’t help. Fire burns brighter in the darkness. Katniss Everdeen

Listen to that. The Mockingjay found her voice.  Haymitch Abernathy

What is it sweetheart? More boy trouble? Haymitch Abernathy  

Let me go! Katniss Everdeen  I can’t. Peeta Mellark

What I need is the dandelion in the spring. The bright yellow that means rebirth instead of destruction. The promise that life can go on, no matter how bad our losses. That it can be good again. Katniss

But there are much worse games to play.  Katniss Everdeen

Permalink
Posted in Uncategorized